鱼群

海豹虽然不是鳕鱼和其他底栖鱼群衰减的主要原因,而过度捕捞和不当管理才是罪魁祸首。然而,海豹阻碍了鱼群在关键区域的恢复。当鱼群易受伤害甚至威胁时,海豹数量就会快速增长(纽芬兰和拉布拉多的大西洋鳕鱼被濒危动植物状况委员会(COSEWIC)列为“濒危”),给脆弱的资源带来了更大的压力。

灰海豹,是圣劳伦斯海湾和乔治海岸的鳕鱼鱼群恢复的限制因素。一只成年海豹每年吃掉多达1.5吨的鱼类,包括鳕鱼、白狗鳕、冬季鳐鱼、毛鳞鱼、鲱鱼、黑线鳕、贝类和其他物种。考虑鱼群恢复时,应设置总许可捕捞量来维持灰海豹的可持续水平。继续努力寻找海豹和海豹产品市场,从而确保所捕获的动物得到最为充分的利用。

除妥善管理海豹捕猎外,加拿大政府还采取其他措施帮助鱼类种群恢复,如通过引进严格的装备修订条款来限制鳕鱼兼捕鱼获物和捕获小鳕鱼,限制渔民继续捕鱼的时间和地点,设置严格定额并增加海上渔民观察员和坞边监管。

海豹的可持续捕获不仅保护海豹自身,还有助于恢复其主要食物鱼群,对于邻近社群具有文化和经济重要性。

通过悉心管理海豹捕猎,可实现和维持重要的生态系统平衡。

“在过去的60年内,生态系统平衡曾因捕鱼能力、公海捕鱼和失败的资源管理制度而受到扰乱。我们现在需要发展平衡、明智和悉心管理的海洋资源使用方法。

—Hon. Darin King纽芬兰和拉布拉多渔业和水产养殖厅厅长(2012)

This post is also available in: English (英语) Français (法语) ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ (Inuktitut)

Fish Stocks

Seals were not the primary cause of the collapse of cod and other groundfish stocks — overfishing and improper management are the main culprits. Seals are, however, hindering the fish stock’s recovery in key areas. The great boom in seal populations at a time when fish stocks are vulnerable, even threatened, (Newfoundland and Labrador’s Atlantic cod is listed as “endangered” by COSEWIC) puts more pressure on a weak resource.

It is accepted that grey seals, in particular, are a limiting factor in the recovery of cod stocks in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and on George’s Bank. An adult seal eats up to 1.5 tonnes of fish a year—cod, white hake, winter skate, caplin, herring, haddock, shellfish, and other species. Total Allowable Catch numbers are set to maintain a sustainable level of grey seals while considering the recovery of the fish stocks. Efforts to find additional markets for seal and seal products continue, to ensure the best and full use of harvested animals.

In addition to a well-managed seal harvest, the government of Canada has stepped up other efforts to help fish stocks recover, by bringing in strict gear modifications to limit cod bycatch and the catching of young cod, restricting the time and location of the fisheries that do continue, setting strict quotas, and increasing at-sea fisheries observers and dockside monitoring.

A sustainable harvest of seals not only protects the seals themselves, but also helps to reinstate many of its chief food stocks that are of cultural and economic importance to the adjacent communities.

Through a carefully managed seal harvest, this important ecosystem balance can be achieved, and maintained.

“Over the past 60 years the historical ecosystem balance has been disturbed by fishing power, high seas fishing, and failed resource management regimes. We need to move now towards a balanced, informed and carefully managed approach to marine resource utilization.”

—Hon. Darin King, MHA, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture of Newfoundland and Labrador (2012)