管理工作

海豹捕猎具有悠久历史和文化重要性,尤其是对加拿大的原住民和沿海农村社群。应确保与土地密切相关且与当地物种协调共存的传统狩猎者能够持续获得多于猎人的资源利益权利。

经验丰富的猎人敬畏环境;他们知道环境退化会影响所有居住在这里的生物。他们会首先发现习惯或条件的变化。如果猎人、研究员和政府之间的沟通路线开放,就可以在无法修补的损害发生前解决问题。通过正式研究或非正式观察监测海豹和海豹数量均可以提供有关生态系统健康和环境变化的基本信息。

受过训练的海豹捕猎者也能注意偷猎者、不人道行为和污染迹象。那些在海洋环境中谋生的人通常具备无可替代的传统知识,如认真倾听,可造福世世代代。

“我们的目标就是取其精华,去其槽粕。……北极圈内的长期环境保护和可持续发展的最可靠保证,就是让这片土地上的因纽特人通过狩猎、打渔、诱捕和搜集的方式,照顾我们的故乡。”

—Aqqaluk Lynge,因纽特人北极圈会议主席

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Stewardship

The seal harvest has a deep history and cultural importance, particularly to Canada’s indigenous peoples and rural, coastal communities. Ensuring that those who have traditionally hunted—who are intimately connected with the land and in tune with the species on it—maintain their access to these resources benefits more than the hunters.

Experienced hunters respect the environment; they know that environmental degradation affects all those who live on it. They will be the first to identify changing habits or conditions. If the lines of communication between hunters, researchers, and government are open, issues may be dealt with before irreparable damage is done. Monitoring seals and seal populations, both through formal studies and informal observation, may provide general information about ecosystem health and environmental changes.

Trained seal harvesters can also watch for poachers, inhumane practices, and signs of pollution. Those who make their living in the marine environment have irreplaceable traditional knowledge that, if listened to, can make a difference for generations to come.

“Our aim is to preserve the best of the old as we adopt the best of the new. ... The surest guarantee of long-term environmental protection and sustainable development in the Arctic is to have Inuit on the land, hunting, fishing, trapping, and gathering—taking care of our homeland.”

—Aqqaluk Lynge, Inuit Circumpolar Conference president