常问问题

否—加拿大猎捕的海豹物种均未濒临灭绝。恰恰相反!西北大西洋的格陵兰海豹种群数量丰富且不断增加,目前数量已超过740万头。自二十世纪八十年代以来,在圣劳伦斯湾猎捕的灰海豹种群仍在稳定增长。北极水域的环斑海豹数量巨大,至少300万头。

北海狗主要出现在加拿大西海岸,是IUCN红色名录中列为“渐危物种”的唯一一种加拿大海豹物种。该物种未在猎捕范围内。

加拿大联邦渔业和海洋部根据可持续利用模式对加拿大海豹猎捕行业实施监管。根据预防原则制定限额—猎捕海豹的社会经济和生态效益深入人心;政府致力于确保世世代代海豹种群健康。数据显示,加拿大联邦管理措施在保护海豹种群方面已取得巨大成功。

否。捕猎者、政府监管人员和消费者均同意:快速人道地抓住所有海豹并在剥皮之前确认死亡。海豹捕猎者是技能熟练、训练有素的专业人员,他们尊重动物。

按照独立兽医工作组的建议,若正确使用,则加拿大专业捕猎者的猎捕方法较为有效并符合动物福利法的既定惯例。统计数据显示,海豹猎捕行业对这些标准的达标率为96%。

所有商业海豹捕猎者必须在更新其许可证之前接受这些人道惯例的全面培训。

当然不是。由于手工业者、纺织品生产商及时尚界的兴趣,海豹毛皮及皮革市场当然在增长。虽然海豹皮极其珍贵,但海豹的其他部位也是如此。海豹油是从海豹脂肪组织提取的一种易于代谢、富含ω-3脂肪酸的来源,并且是一种受大众喜爱的食品级健康滋补品。

海豹肉也是一种宝贵的商品。对于小规模海豹捕猎者及其家庭和社区而言,海豹肉 是一种便宜、健康、易得且可持续的蛋白质来源。对于越来越多的加拿大厨师来说,海豹肉是一种可在本地采购的有机肉,应加以庆祝并加入菜单

在1983年市场崩溃后,加拿大政府开始补贴海豹捕猎者,但仅限于市场和产品发展,其中包括肉类补贴(1995-99),以鼓励充分利用格陵兰海豹。随着行业盈利能力的恢复,在2001年停止了这些补贴。

2015年,联邦政府宣布为海豹认证和市场准入计划提供570万美元资金,以支持土著社区利用欧盟土著社区对海豹产品的豁免政策(包括业务培训和认证协议的制定)。 该资金还用于促进和改善所有加拿大海豹产品的市场准入情况。

在国家层面上,猎捕海豹的经济贡献较小,但在就业机会极其有限时,其为6000多个偏远沿海社区的个人及其家庭提供了重要的收入来源。在一些社区中,超过25%的家庭均参与猎捕活动,其中猎捕活动可占其年收入的25-35%。

作为当地且可持续的食物来源,很难估算海豹猎捕的美元价值。特别是在食品安全问题严峻的北极地区,海豹肉至关重要:一条环斑海豹可为一个家庭提供价值200美元的肉类。

海豹的抵岸价值每年都在波动,2006年达到3410万美元的历史新高。2009年欧盟禁止海豹产品后,这一数额急剧下降,但随着新市场的成功开发,这一数额再次上升。

人类过度捕捞是西北大西洋鳕鱼存量崩溃的主要因素,但各种因素造成其恢复缓慢。 每头海豹每年可消耗高达1.5吨的鱼,据了解,在一些地区,它们阻碍了鳕鱼存量的恢复。

消耗量估计显示,格陵兰海豹和灰海豹每年约消耗35万吨鳕鱼。 相比之下,2016年加拿大年度大西洋鳕鱼的总上市量约为16000吨。

值得注意的是,加拿大政府根据如何最好地保护海豹存量来设定商业海豹猎捕限额,而不是保护鱼类。在平衡的生态系统中,鱼类和海豹将以可持续的数量共存。

小海豹是非常幼小的海豹,该词通常系指完全依靠母亲获得食物和安全的白色幼崽。自1987年以来,猎捕该阶段的海豹一直都是非法的。海洋哺乳动物法规禁止猎捕、销售或交易白色幼崽。此外,不能在成年海豹下崽(分娩)现场或幼崽仍依赖它们时进行猎捕。

断奶后不久,海豹会蜕皮并失去白色毛皮,开始游泳和捕猎,并且通常不再被称为幼崽。在这个阶段,它们变得完全独立,因为它们的母亲通常都会离开进行例年迁徙。雌海豹被称为奶牛,而雄海豹则被称为公牛。

是的。海豹猎捕工作是许多加拿大人文化和经济生活中的重要组成部分。海豹种群健康,并且每头动物会提供多种产品,可增加食品安全性,增强社区联系并为加拿大的一些最偏僻地区提供谋生手段。

海豹猎捕行业是一个可持续发展的行业,建立在对动物及生态系统的尊重之上,并利用过去的历史传统及未来的市场。

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

FAQ

No—none of the seal species harvested in Canada are endangered. Quite the opposite! The harp seal population in the northwest Atlantic is abundant and increasing, currently numbering over 7.4 million individuals. The population of grey seals, harvested in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, has risen steadily since the 1980s. Ringed seals, populous in Arctic waters, number at least 3 million.

The Northern Fur Seal, found off the west coast of Canada, is the only Canadian seal species listed as “vulnerable” on the IUCN Red List. It is not hunted.

The Canadian seal harvest is managed by the federal Department of Fisheries and Oceans, based on a sustainable use model. Quotas are developed, based on a precautionary principle—the socio-economic and ecological benefits of harvesting seals run deep; the government is committed to ensuring a healthy seal population for generations to come. Canadian federal management measures have been highly successful in conserving the seal populations, as the numbers show.

No. Harvesters, government regulators, and consumers agree: all seals are to be taken quickly, humanely, and death is confirmed before pelts are removed. Sealers are skilled, trained professionals who treat the animals with respect.

Employed properly, the hunting methods of Canadian professional sealers are effective and in accordance with established practices of animal welfare, as recommended by the Independent Veterinarians’ Working Group. Statistics show the sealing industry has maintained a 96 per cent compliance rate with these standards.

All commercial sealers must be fully trained in these humane practices before renewing their licenses.

Absolutely not. The market for seal fur and leather is certainly growing, thanks to the interests of artisans, textile producers, and the fashion industry. While seal pelts are prized, the rest of the animal is as well. Seal oil, rendered from seal blubber, is a source of easily metabolized, beneficial Omega-3 fatty acids and a popular food-grade health supplement.

Seal meat is also a valuable commodity. For small-scale sealers and their families and communities, it is a cheap, healthy, accessible, and sustainable source of protein. For a growing list of chefs, Canada-wide, seal meat is a locally sourced, organic meat to be celebrated and incorporated into menus.

The Canadian government began subsidizing its sealers after the market collapsed in 1983, but only for market and product development, including a meat subsidy (1995-99) to encourage full use of harp seal. With the return to profitability of the industry, these subsidies ceased in 2001.

In 2015, the federal government announced a $5.7 million Certification and Market Access Program for Seals to support Indigenous communities in leveraging the EU’s Indigenous communities’ exemption for seal products (including business training and the development of certification protocols). The fund is also used to promote and improve market access for all Canadian seal products.

At the national level, the economic contribution of sealing is small—yet it represents a significant source of income for over 6,000 individuals and their families in remote coastal communities at a time of year when employment opportunities are extremely limited. In some communities, over 25% of households take part in the hunt, and among those people the hunt can account for 25-35% of their annual income.

As a local and sustainable food source, it is difficult to pin a dollar value on the seal hunt. Especially in areas like the high north, where food security is an issue, seal meat is vital: one ringed seal can provide $200 worth of meat to a family.

The landed value of seals fluctuates from year to year, reaching a historic high of $34.1 million in 2006. This amount dipped sharply after the EU ban on seal products in 2009, but is on the rise again, as new markets are successfully developed.

Overfishing by humans was the main factor in the collapse of Northwest Atlantic cod stocks, but a wide range of factors are responsible for their slow recovery. Each seal can consume up to 1.5 tonnes of fish per year, and it is known that in some areas, they are hindering the return of cod stocks.

Consumption estimates indicate that harp and grey seals consume approximately 350,000 tonnes of cod per year. By comparison, Canada’s total annual Atlantic codfish landings were about 16,000 tonnes in 2016.

It is important to note that the Canadian government sets commercial sealing quotas based on how best to conserve seal stocks—not to protect fish. In a balanced ecosystem, fish and seals will coexist at sustainable numbers.

Seals pups are very young seals—the term usually refers to white coats which are totally dependent on their mothers for food and security. It is illegal to hunt seals at this stage, and has been since 1987. Marine Mammal Regulations forbid the hunt, sale, or trade of white coats. Additionally, adult seals cannot be harvested at the whelping (birthing) grounds, or while their babies are dependent on them.

Shortly after weaning, seals moult and lose their white fur, begin to swim and hunt, and are generally no longer referred to as pups. At this stage, they become totally independent, as their mothers generally leave for their annual migration. Female seals are called cows, and males, bulls.

Yes. Sealing is an important part of many Canadians’ lives—culturally and economically. The seal populations are healthy, and each animal provides a diverse range of products that increase food security, strengthen community bonds, and provide a means of making a living in some of this country’s most isolated areas.

The seal harvest is a sustainable industry, built on respect for animals and the ecosystem, drawing on the traditions of the past and the markets of the future.