港海豹

港海豹

其他常用名:普通海豹

区别性特征:身体呈灰色、棕褐色、褐色或黑褐色,通常都有斑点。

尺寸:公海豹1.4-1.9m长,体重可达170kg;母海豹稍微小一些,1.2-1.7m长,体重105kg。幼仔出生时重8-12 kg。

寿命:母海豹寿命为30-35年,公海豹20-25年。

食物:根据地点和可获得物,捕食多样食物,包括鳕鱼、鲱鱼、鳀鱼、鲈鱼、玉筋鱼、牙鲆、牙鳕、鳎目鱼、虾、章鱼、软体类鱼、鱿鱼、溪红点鲑和鲑鱼。

数量:全球数量预期为大约65万港海豹。

天敌:虎鲸、大白鲨和格陵兰鲨鱼、海狮、海象;老鹰、海鸥以及渡鸦会瞄准幼仔

世界自然保护联盟状况:无危物种;数量趋势:未知。

加拿大濒危野生动植物状况委员会状况:无危险;濒危昂加瓦半岛普通海豹种群。

分布区

五种港海豹的亚种-东太平洋港海豹、西太平洋港海豹、西大西洋港海豹、东大西洋港海豹和昂加瓦半岛普通海豹-结合在一起,尽管它们只分布于赤道以北,却是分布最为广泛的海豹物种。在加拿大,它们几乎沿着所有海岸线分布(太平洋、北极和大西洋)。

从岩石到沙地,港海豹在这些地方进行捕捉或繁殖;它们是一种沿海物种,但众所周知,在河流和北大西洋中生活。昂加瓦半岛普通海豹的亚种待在淡水中。

生命周期

母海豹在3至5岁性成熟,公海豹在4至6岁性成熟。生育季节的时间取决于地点/纬度;时间范围从三月到九月。幼仔生育在海岸上。喂养幼仔时间为三到四周,但与许多其它五种不同,港海豹母亲每次将离开幼仔三天之久,它要去海里觅食。

海豹种类

环斑海豹

环斑海豹

北方海狗

北方海狗

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Harbour Seal

Phoca vitulina

Other common name: Common seal

Distinctive features: May be grey, tan, brown and/or black, usually with spots.

Size: Bulls are 1.4-1.9 m long and up to 170 kg; cows are slightly smaller at 1.2-1.7 m and 105 kg. Pups weigh 8-12 kg at birth.

Longevity: 30–35 years for cows and 20–25 years for bulls.

Diet: A diverse diet, according to location and availability, that may include hake, menhaden, herring, anchovy, sea bass, sandlance, flounder, herring, cod, whiting, sole, shrimp, octopus, mullosks, squid, brook trout and salmon.

Population: The global population is estimated at some 650,000 harbour seals.

Predators: Killer whales, great white and Greenland sharks, sea lions, walrus; eagles, gulls, and ravens target pups.

IUCN Status: Least concern; population trend: unknown.

COSEWIC Status: Not at risk; Lacs des Loups Marins population endangered.

Range

Five subspecies of harbour seal—Eastern Pacific harbour seal, Western Pacific harbour seal, Western Atlantic harbour seal, Eastern Atlantic harbour seal, and the Ungava seal—combine to make it the most widely distributed seal species, though they are only found north of the Equator. In Canada, they are found along virtually all coastlines (Pacific, Arctic, and Atlantic).

Harbour seals will haul out or breed on everything from rocky to sandy terrain; they are a coastal species but have been known to spend time in rivers and ponds. The Ungava sub-species stays in fresh water.

Life Cycle

Cows become sexually mature at 3 to 5 years and bulls at 4 to 6 years. The timing of the birthing season will depend on location/latitude; ranges from March to September. Birthing of pups happens on shore. Pups are weaned in three to four weeks but, unlike many other species, mothers will leave the pups for up to three days at a time to travel to the sea to feed.