冠海豹

冠海豹

其他常见名:凤头海豹

区别特征:幼年冠海豹的毛皮为蓝色,15个月大的时候进行脱毛。成年冠海豹的面部颜色比身体的其他部分深,它们侧面和前面的蓝灰毛皮颜色较浅,全身带有不规则的黑色标记。

尺寸:雄性平均长度2.6m,体重在300至400kg之间。雌性平均长度2.3m,体重在160至250kg之间。幼仔出生时体重在10至15kg之间。

寿命:30-35年

饮食:种类繁多:鱿鱼、格陵兰大比目鱼、红鲑鱼、鳕鱼、大西洋水珍鱼、狼鱼、片脚类动物、磷虾、毛鳞鱼以及海星、贻贝和虾。

天敌:杀人鲸、北极熊和格陵兰鲨鱼。

数量:2005年,加拿大的冠海豹总数量估计为593500只。自此尚未完成任何评估,所以现在的数量趋势难以确定(通过20世纪80年代和90年代的数量增长)。

世界自然保护联盟(IUCN)状态:数量状态:未知。

濒危野生动物(COSEWIC)状态:无风险。

分布范围

冠海豹是迁移性动物,仅分布于北大西洋的中部和西部。作为范围广泛的独居动物,它们有规律地穿过广阔的北大西洋,进行觅食和繁殖。它们夏季在戴维斯海峡之间移动,冬末在地面产崽。四个主要繁殖地区是纽芬兰和拉布拉多沿海地区、格陵兰岛东海岸、圣劳伦斯河海湾(通常是马达兰群岛)以及戴维斯海峡。

人们已经知道,冠海豹个体可远距离漫游,西边最远至阿拉斯加,南边最远至加勒比海的加那利群岛和瓜德罗普岛。

生命周期

母海豹在3到6岁之间成年,公海豹在5到7岁之间成年。海豹幼仔在三月中旬至四月初出生,具有发育良好的脂肪层-必要时,它们仅需喂养4至8天,是所有哺乳动物中喂养使其最短的动物。在这段时间里,幼仔翻倍生长,从约24kg到47kg。然后它们被它们的母亲遗弃。

出生后,母海豹通常和公海豹一起在冰川上照看它们的幼仔,公海豹负责在冰川上环绕母海豹及其幼仔移动,提供保护。这些公海豹并不是幼仔的父亲,但它们等待幼仔离开后与母海豹进行交配。母海豹的身体可阻止胚胎发育3-4个月(延迟植入),以保证其下一只幼仔能够在冰期出生。

海豹种类

灰海豹

灰海豹

髯海豹

髯海豹

北方海狗

北方海狗

This post is also available in: English (英语) Français (法语) ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ (Inuktitut)

Hooded Seal

Cystophora cristata

Other common name: Crested seal

Distinctive features: Young hooded seals have a bluish pelt which they shed at 15 months. Adult faces are darker than the rest of their body, and their bluish-grey coats are lighter on the sides and front, with black, irregular marks scatted over the body.

Size: Bulls average 2.6 m in length and weigh between 300 and 400 kg. Cows average 2.3 m in length and weigh between 160 and 250 kg. Pups weigh 10 to 15 kg at birth.

Longevity: 30-35 years

Diet: Varies greatly: Squid, Greenland halibut, redfish, cod, Atlantic argentine, wolf fish, amphipods, euphausiids, capelin, as well as starfish, mussels, and shrimp.

Predators: Killer whales, polar bears and Greenland sharks.

Population: In Canada, the estimated total population in 2005 was 593,500. No assessment has been completed since, so the current population trend is difficult to determine (numbers increased through the 1980s and 1990s).

IUCN Status: Population status: unknown.

COSEWIC Status: Not at risk.

Range

The hooded seal is migratory, found only in the central and western North Atlantic. Wide-ranging loners, they regularly cross vast expanses of the North Atlantic to feed and breed. They move between the Davis Strait in summer and their whelping grounds in late winter. The four main breeding areas are off the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador, of the east coast of Greenland, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence (usually Magdalen Islands), and in the Davis Strait.

Individuals have been known to wander large distances, occurring as far west as Alaska and as far south as the Canary Islands and Guadeloupe in the Caribbean.

Life Cycle

Cows mature between ages 3 and 6, bulls between 5 and 7. Pups are born in mid-March to early April with a well-developed blubber layer—necessary as they nurse for only 4 to 8 days, the shortest period of any mammal. In that time, pups double in size from about 24 kg to 47 kg. They are then abandoned by their mothers.

After birthing, cows are often observed with their pups on ice floes with bulls in attendance, circling the floes and providing protection. These bulls are not the fathers of the pups, but bulls waiting to mate after the pups leave. The cow’s body prevents the embryo from developing for 3-4 months (delayed implantation) to time the birth of its next pup with the cycle of the ice.