产品

历史上,海豹可用于制造从服装到遮盖物、食物、燃料等各种产品。现今,最终产品已经改变,但基本原理相同-海豹的所有部分都很有价值,得到购买,许多行业都在使用。

海豹皮革及皮毛耐用、防水而且漂亮,仍在传统工艺和服装中使用。但在现代手工业工人、纺织工业和时装设计师中,仍能发现新的产品。海豹皮革饰品和海豹毛皮靴在时装表演或城市中心街道上不再是古怪的产品,它们仅仅存在于小沿海社群。

同样地,海豹肉依赖于海豹捕猎社群的自给自足和贸易,但也出现在从温哥华到圣约翰的豪华餐厅的菜单上。海豹油曾用于海豹皮革制革中并用作肥皂成分,现因所含有的Omega-3脂肪酸具有惊人的健康效益而备受青睐。

了解更多关于密封产品

“它是国家最具可持续性的海产品之一。它独一无二。它与众不同…… [海豹] 当然有其争议,但我认为它是加拿大食品历史和加拿大美食故事的一个重要部分,我认为它值得讨论。”
—Eric Pateman,温哥华食在加拿大的行政总厨和总裁

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Products

Historically, a seal was used for everything from clothing to shelter to food to fuel. Today, the end products have changed, but the philosophy is the same—all parts of the seal are prized, purchased, and used by a wide variety of industries.

Seal leather and fur—rugged, waterproof, and beautiful—is still used in traditional craft and clothing. But it is also finding new life among modern artisans, textile industries, and fashion designers. Seal leather accessories and seal fur boots are no longer oddities on runways or downtown urban streets, no more than they are in small coastal communities.

Likewise, seal meat is still relied upon for subsistence and trade in sealing communities, but it is also showing up on fine restaurant menus from Vancouver to St. John’s. And seal oil, once used in the tanning of seal leather and as an ingredient in soap, is now most appreciated for the amazing health benefits of its Omega-3 fatty acids.

Learn More About Seal Products

“It’s one of the most sustainable seafoods in the country. It’s unique. It’s different … [Seal] certainly comes with its controversy, but I think it’s an important part of Canada’s food history and Canada’s food story and I think it’s a discussion worth having.”
—Eric Pateman, executive chef and president of Edible Canada, Vancouver