烤饼是纽芬兰美食,烘烤海豹肉是最好的家常烹饪。传统因纽特人的食物长期围绕海豹制作,都是由海豹提供:肉、肉脂和内脏。

但在过去十年,海豹肉为更广泛的人群接受。它日益频繁地出现在全加拿大餐厅的菜单上,满足人们,特别是那些忠于在当地吃东西的人的味觉,赢得关注,其原料可持续得到。

由于各级厨师乐于使用这种有价值的野味肉,他们更加别出心裁。在魁北克、滨海诸省份及更远的地方,都提供海豹香肠和海豹汉堡。餐厅客人正接受着精美餐厅介绍的菜品,包括海豹酒、嫩海豹、海豹馄饨,甚至海豹肉排。食在加拿大总厨Eric Pateman在其2017年温哥华美食街菜单上特别推出了海豹宽面条。

海豹肉为红肉,含有很多脂肪。它也有瘦肉-海豹的大多脂肪都直接在其皮下,它的肉并非肥瘦均匀。根据准备,它的味道可比作肝脏或牛肉,但更准确地是像穿过海洋的驼鹿和其他野味肉。它可以加入丰富和温和的香料,配合糕点食用,并且适合任何烹调风格。

海豹还富含蛋白质、钙、铁、镁和维生素B12。当然,它100%有机,自由放养,无激素。

“它是海味和美味的红野味肉的结合。当你吃到最新鲜的产品,这是一种款待,它刚好符合我们使用本地、季节性可用产品的想法。”

—厨师Todd Perrin,圣约翰野鸭村舍

“I我可以吃到海豹肉排……喜欢红色肉类或野味肉的人也会喜欢它。”

—厨师Benoît Lenglet、Au Cinquième Péché、Montreal

“它是围绕在我们身边的美味的、野生的、有机的和可持续的蛋白质……无论是半生不熟还是熏制的、焖的还是炖的,都很好吃。”

—厨师Jeremy Charles,圣约翰雷蒙德餐厅

This post is also available in: English (英语) Français (法语) ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ (Inuktitut)

Meat

Flipper pie is an established Newfoundland favourite, and baked or roast seal is down-home cooking at its best. The traditional Inuit diet has been long built around on seal and all it offers: meat, blubber, and organs.

But over the past decade, seal meat is being embraced by a wider audience. It is showing up on restaurant menus across Canada with increasing frequency, winning over palates and minds, especially for those committed to eating locally sourced, sustainably harvested ingredients.

Chefs of all levels are becoming more inventive as they embrace this prized game meat. Seal salami and seal burgers are served up in Quebec, the Maritimes, and beyond. Fine-dining presentations of seal tartar, tender seal loin, seal ravioli, and even seal steak are being embraced by restaurant-goers. Edible Canada executive chef Eric Pateman featured seal pappardelle in his 2017 Dine Out Vancouver menu.

Seal meat is dark and rich. It is also lean—seal carry almost all of their fat immediately beneath the skin, not marbled through the meat. Depending on preparation, its taste has been compared to liver or beef, but more accurately to moose and other game meat, crossed with a touch of the ocean. It stands up to hearty and warm spices, pastry, and any manner of cooking styles.

Seal is also rich in protein, calcium, iron, magnesium, and vitamin B12—and, of course, it’s 100% organic, free-range, and hormone-free.

“It’s got a taste of the sea combined with the richness of dark game meat. When you have the freshest product it’s a treat and it just fits with our idea of using local, seasonally available product.”

—Chef Todd Perrin,
Mallard Cottage,
St. John’s

“I could eat a steak of seal … Anyone who likes red meat or game will like it.”

—Chef Benoît Lenglet,
Au Cinquième Péché,
Montreal

“It’s a beautiful, wild, organic and sustainable protein that we have surrounding us … Whether it’s raw or cured, braised or stewed, it’s delicious.”

—Chef Jeremy Charles,
Raymonds restaurant,
St. John’s