纺织品

数千年来,用作毛皮和皮革制品的海豹皮毛保护加拿大最北的居民抵抗严寒的冬季。因纽特人和其他土著民族利用毛皮防水、挡风,保持身体热量,他们做出耐用的服装、靴子和遮盖物。海豹皮革一直有许多种用途。

海豹皮毛兴起了加拿大手工业和奢侈品行业。其功能确实符合现代海豹纺织品的时尚:毛皮和皮革的耐用性特别适用于加拿大气候,每块毛皮的自然图案和颜色可在鞋靴、外套、钱包和饰品中尽显美丽。

海豹皮毛设计可在结婚礼服上看到;简单的海豹皮毛袖口、垂饰和耳饰都是展现自然之美的细微表现。已发现不止一位加拿大国会议员喜欢扎海豹毛皮领导或戴上保暖的海豹皮毛。

来自努纳武特、纽芬兰和拉布拉多、魁北克和其他地方的新一代工匠正在为现代人群重新设计传统海豹皮毛服装。加拿大极具前途的设计师正将海豹融入他们的工作之中,走向一条新兴之路。同时,他们将海豹纺织品带进新市场、新一代和新的创造高度。

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Textiles

Seal skin, both as fur and leather, has been used for thousands of years to protect Canada’s northernmost residents from the harshest winter conditions. Inuit and other indigenous peoples take advantage of the fur’s ability to repel water, block wind, and retain heat to make durable clothing, boots, and shelters. Seal leather had, and has, a multitude of uses.

Seal skin is having a renaissance in the Canadian artisan and luxury sectors. Function truly meets fashion in modern seal textiles: the durability of the fur and leather is uniquely appropriate for the Canadian climate; each pelt’s natural patterns and colours are celebrated and showcased in boots, shoes, jackets, purses, and accessories.

Seal fur trim can be seen on wedding dresses; simple sealskin cuffs, pendants, and earrings are subtle statements of appreciation for nature’s beauty. More than one of Canada’s parliamentarians has been spotted sporting a seal fur tie or warm winter hat.

New groups of artisans from Nunavut, Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec, and elsewhere are reimagining traditional sealskin clothing for a modern audience. Canada’s up-and-coming designers are incorporating seal into their work in exciting new ways. Together, they are bringing seal textiles to new markets, new generations, and new creative heights.