环斑海豹

环斑海豹

其他常用名:Jar海豹;因纽皮特人称它们为natchek,白令海峡的讲尤皮克语的因纽特人称它们为niknik。其他因纽特人依据海豹的状况命名:包括netsiak (白袍海豹)、netsiavinerk(银罐海豹)、netsilak (成年海豹)和tiggak(育种雄性海豹)。

区别性特征:环斑海豹因其背部有灰白色环斑而得名。着色有所不同,但基本图案为带有深色斑的灰背,腹面银白。

尺寸:最小的海豹1.5m长,体重50-70kg。幼仔出生时重4.5kg。

寿命:25-35年。

食物:无脊椎动物和鱼类,包括鳕鱼、鲱鱼、胡瓜鱼、白鱼、鲈鱼、甲壳类鱼、鱿鱼、杜父鱼以及浮游动物。

天敌:北极熊、北极狐和红狐、海象、狗、狼、狼獾和渡鸦。

数量:估计至少有300万只。

世界自然保护联盟状况:无危物种;数量趋势:未知。

加拿大濒危野生动植物状况委员会状况:无危险

分布区

环斑海豹分布于北冰洋的各个海域,横过环极区域。它们是非迁移性动物,通常待在冰川和浮冰之上。冬天,它们大多数聚集在靠近岸边的海岸固定冰上,是沿海因纽特人的重要经济

来源。在阿拉斯加,它们栖息在北部白令海、楚科奇海和波弗特海海域。最南边发现它们的地方是阿留申群岛。

通常有海冰的地方,就会出现环斑海豹。但在不结冰时期,有些环斑海豹可在白令海和楚科奇海海域看到。在秋天,海豹出现在各种海岸固定冰的各个沿海地点,春天冰融化时,它们又都消失不见了。

生命周期

在三月和四月,母海豹在陆地或漂浮的浮冰雪窝中产下一只幼仔。那些在陆地雪窝中产崽的海豹会在冰脊或雪堆下建造巢穴,以预防天敌和严寒天气。出生在漂浮的浮冰上的幼仔更容易受到北极熊的捕食;一些证据表明在此产崽的是无经验的母亲。幼仔需要喂养大约2个月。通常是在冰融化时断奶。

在繁殖期,雄性海豹会占据领地。产崽后,大多数母海豹在一个月内会再次孕育幼仔,但是会延迟胚胎植入,直到七月中旬或八月初开始孕育。孕期持续大约11个月。大多数母海豹在6至8岁首次产崽。公海豹在相同年龄性成熟。

环斑海豹用它们的爪子在冰里挖出一个锥形呼吸孔;这使其在冰缘线比其它海豹生存更久。

This post is also available in: English (英语) Français (法语) ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ (Inuktitut)

Ringed Seal

Pusa hispida

Other common names: Jar seal; the Inupiat call them natchek, the Yupik-speaking Inuit of the Bering Strait call them niknik. Other Inuit names depend on the condition of the seal: including netsiak (whitecoat), netsiavinerk (silver jar), netsilak (adult), and tiggak (breeding male).

Distinctive features: The ringed seal is named for the black spots ringed with light marks on its back. Colouration varies but the basic pattern is a grey back with black spots and a light belly.

Size: Among the smallest of the seals, at 1.5 m long and 50-70 kg weight. Pups weigh 4.5 kg at birth.

Longevity: 25-35 years.

Diet: Invertebrates and fish, including cod, herring, smelt, whitefish, perch, crustaceans, squid, sculpins, and zooplankton.

Predators: Polar bear, arctic and red foxes, walrus, dogs, wolves, wolverines and ravens.

Population: Estimated to be at least 3 million animals.

IUCN Status: Least concern; population trend: unknown.

COSEWIC Status: Not at risk

Range

Ringed seals are in all seas of the Arctic Ocean, and occur across the circumpolar region. They are non-migratory and generally associated with ice floes and pack ice. During winter, they are most abundant close to shore in the shorefast ice and have been important in the economy of the coastal Inuit. In Alaska, they inhabit the northern Bering, Chukchi and Beaufort seas. They have been found as far south as the Aleutian Islands.

Ringed seals generally occur in association with sea ice. However, some are seen during ice-free periods in the Bering and Chukchi seas. Seals appear at various coastal locations with the formation of shorefast ice in the fall and disappear in the spring with the ice breakup.

Life Cycle

Cows give birth to a single pup in snow dens on either landfast or drifting pack ice in March and April. Those that give birth on landfast ice build lairs in pressure ridges or under snowdrifts for protection from predators and weather. Pups born on drifting pack ice are more prone to polar bear predation; some evidence suggests mothers that give birth here are inexperienced. Pups nurse for about 2 months. Weaning usually takes place at ice breakup.

Males may be territorial during the breeding season. Most cows breed again within a month after giving birth, though implantation of the embryo is delayed until mid-July or early August. Pregnancy lasts about 11 months. Most cows first give birth at 6 to 8 years. Bulls become sexually mature at the same age.

Ringed seals use their claws to excavate a cone-shaped breathing hole in the ice; this allows it to live further from the ice edge than other seals.