北方

因纽特人是具有相似文化的原住民,主要生活在西伯利亚的北极海岸、阿拉斯加、西北地区、努勒维特、魁北克、拉布拉多和格陵兰。直到过去的几十年,这个范围内的文化较为单一,尤其依赖鱼类、海产哺乳动物和陆地动物提供食物、热量、光、服装、工具和遮盖物。他们的语言,有时称作因纽特语,属于因纽特或爱斯基摩-阿留申的语言。

加拿大因纽特人主要生活在努勒维特领域、魁北克北部的努纳维克以及拉布拉多的努纳武特安置区。因努维阿勒伊特人大多生活在麦肯齐河三角洲、班克斯岛和西北地区的部分维多利亚岛。阿拉斯加伊努皮克人生活在北坡,尤皮克人生活在阿拉斯加西部和俄罗斯楚科奇自治区的部分地区。

因纽特人北极圈会议(ICC)创立于1977年,规定其选民包括加拿大的因纽特人和因努维阿勒伊特人,格陵兰的Kalaallit人、阿拉斯加的伊努皮克人和尤皮克人以及俄罗斯的尤皮克人。从起源于极北之地的意义上来说,尤皮克人并不是因纽特人,而更希望被叫做尤皮克人或爱斯基摩人。ICC代表大约16万因纽特人。

在加拿大北部,现成的肉很贵,而一只环斑海豹能为家庭提供等同于200美元或更多的肉,并且所含营养水平更高。

因纽特人狩猎

加拿大北极圈的因纽特人通常狩猎成年环斑海豹,这在大陆北部的大多数地区非常普遍。

三、四月期间,环斑海豹向南迁徙,以便在岸冰上产仔;等到幼豹抵达北部的家时,他们已经成年了。因纽特人所捕获的大部分环斑海豹的年龄都超过一岁。

环斑海豹使用锋利的爪子在冰面挖出锥形的通气孔,称作allu或aglu。这使得他们能够远距离旅行,远离海岸和冰缘线,扩大了狩猎范围。

因纽特人通常会监视这些通气孔,站着不动,准备在海豹突然出现前来呼吸的瞬间用鱼叉叉住海豹。尽管现代猎人使用枪射击猎物,但是狩猎海豹时仍需要耐心、警觉和技能。

目前加拿大北极圈的环斑海豹数量预计为150万。因纽特人每年的捕获量为3.5万只动物,该数量为经过管理的可持续数量。努勒维特野生动植物管理委员会依靠传统因纽特人知识、科学并与联邦渔业海洋部协作,从而管理努勒维特的狩猎情况。该委员会的运行原则是可持续捕猎、彻底使用和人道捕猎。

海豹的重要性

长久以来,海豹对于因纽特人的生存至关重要,几乎提供生活的所有必需品:食物、温暖、光和遮盖物。海豹皮兼具防水和保暖的特点,是制作服装和靴子的首选材料。海豹油可作为灯的燃料。海豹肉具有高营养、高能量、肉质鲜美的特点。由于上述原因,海豹备受敬畏、感激并共享。海豹狩猎的传统以及海豹的艺术、工艺品和必需品是文化和社群的基石。

19世纪晚期,北部最先认识到海豹的商业价值,当欧洲捕鲸船首次抵达这里,不久以后,哈德逊湾公司便开始与因纽特人进行贸易往来。从那时起,动物不单单是生存所用,还是收入的来源。

如今的狩猎以家庭为中心,以生存为首要目的。一个家庭将所需食物和艺术以及工艺品所需的毛皮取走后,剩余部分即可出售。据估计海豹产品的销售额为努勒维特每年的经济贡献约1百万美元。

挑战

1972年,美国通过了海洋哺乳动物保护法案;从那时起,美国市场就不再对海豹产品开放。

1982年,面对绿色和平组织和其他激进组织的高度压力,欧洲议会做出回应,表明禁止进口白袍海豹的海豹皮。因纽特猎人从未猎杀过白袍海豹,尽管其享有免税的待遇,但是环斑海豹产品市场仍然崩溃。1988年,销量从1977年的5万多件毛皮下降到不足1千件。所售出的毛皮每件仅获得5美元(为十年前价格的五分之一)。

1983年北部沿海原住社群中自杀率上升,年收入下降(例如:雷索卢特湾的一名海豹捕猎者的年收入从54000美元跌至1000美元),以及出现其他破坏性的社会和文化挑战。许多以勤奋工作引以为豪,并在家乡谋生的人们挣扎着面对国际的蔑视。

2009年欧盟禁止进口海豹产品。早期行动中,因纽特猎人不在欧盟的禁令范围内,但是结果再一次具有破坏性,毛皮的销量减少了90%。

某些市场中的海豹产品需求正在增长,并且海豹正在高级时装、饭店和食品行业,以及天然药物贸易方面寻找新的归宿。尽管如此,反海豹捕猎组织仍旧活跃有声,并推动消费者消除选择天然、可持续的海豹产品的能力。

食品安全

多达70%的因纽特家庭被认为食品不安全。北部的食品过于昂贵,并且传统食物来源和狩猎方式正在蜕变。

为确保供应营养丰富的食物,海豹和其他乡村食物大有帮助。许多北部社群建立社群冷冻箱或其他食物分享结构。这样,狩猎的人可以为不狩猎的人提供帮助。该举措也是因纽特人传统中对于社群合作的延伸——换言之,传统食物获取途径提供了社会、文化以及营养的益处。

在加拿大北部,现成的肉很贵,而一只环斑海豹能为家庭提供等同于200美元或更多的肉,并且所含营养水平更高。

了解更多关于东海岸的密封文化

“努勒维特人在世界贸易中寻找一席之地。因纽特人等待机会分享他们的资源和成就,以便实现更加光明的未来。自然保护的价值和贸易精神可以齐头并进。不幸的是管理尚且缺乏可持续使用的科学依据,仍然存在障碍。”

—努勒维特政府

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

The North

The Inuit are indigenous peoples with similar cultures living primarily on the Arctic coasts of Siberia, Alaska, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Quebec, Labrador, and Greenland. Until the last few decades, the culture in this range was remarkably homogeneous, notably in the reliance on fish, marine mammals and land animals for food, heat, light, clothing, tools, and shelter. Their language, sometimes called Inuktitut, is grouped under Inuit language or Eskimo-Aleut languages.

Canadian Inuit live primarily in the territory of Nunavut, Nunavik in northern Quebec, and in the Nunatsiavut settlement region in Labrador. The Inuvialuit live mostly in the Mackenzie River delta, on Banks Island and part of Victoria Island in the Northwest Territories. Alaskan Inupiaq live on the North Slope, while the Yupik live in western Alaska and a part of Chukotka Autonomous Okrug in Russia.

The Inuit Circumpolar Conference (ICC), founded in 1977, defines its constituency to include Canada’s Inuit and Inuvialuit, Greenland’s Kalaallit people, Alaska’s Inupiaq and Yupik people, and Russia’s Yupik. The Yupik are not Inuit in the sense of being descended from the Thule and prefer to be called Yupik or Eskimo. The ICC represents approximately 160,000 Inuit.

In Canada’s north, where store-bought meat is expensive, a single ringed seal can provide the equivalent of $200 or more worth of meat to a family—and a much higher level of nutrition.

The Inuit Hunt

The Inuit of Canada’s Arctic generally hunt adult ringed seals, which are prevalent in the most northern areas of the continent.

Ringed seals migrate southward to give birth on landfast ice during March and April; by the time the young arrive at their northern home, they have reached adulthood. The majority of ringed seals harvested by Inuit are more than a year old.

Using their sharp claws, ringed seals scrape cone-shaped breathing holes in the ice, called allu or aglu. This allows them to travel for long distances away from shore and the ice edge, broadening their hunting grounds.

Traditionally, Inuit would stake out these breathing holes, standing still, harpoon at the ready for the instant a seal pops up to breathe. Although modern hunters use guns to target their prey, seal hunting still requires patience, vigilance, and skill.

The current population of ringed seals in the Canadian Arctic is estimated at 1.5 million. The annual Inuit take is about 35,000 animals, a managed and sustainable amount. The Nunavut Wildlife Management Board manages hunting in Nunavut, relying on traditional Inuit knowledge, science, and collaboration with the federal Department of Fisheries and Oceans. It operates on the principles of sustainable harvest, complete use, and humane harvesting.

Importance of Seal

Seal have long been key to Inuit survival, providing virtually all the necessities of life: food, warmth, light, and shelter. Seal hide, both waterproof and warm, was the preferred material for clothing and boots. The oil was fuel for lamps. The meat was high in nutrients, energy, and flavour. Seals were highly respected for these reasons, appreciated and shared — the traditions of the seal hunt and of the arts, crafts, and necessities that resulted from it are cultural and community cornerstones.

The commercial value of seal was first realized in the north in the late 1800s, when European whaling vessels first arrived and, soon after, Hudson’s Bay Company began trading with Inuit. From then on, the animals were not only for subsistence, but also a source of revenue.

Today’s hunt is family-centred and subsistence first. After a family has taken the food it needs, and the pelts required for art and craftwork, the rest may be sold. It is estimated the sale of seal products contributes about $1 million to Nunavut’s economy annually.

Challenges

In 1972, the United States passed the Marine Mammal Protection Act; ever since then US markets have been closed to seal products.

In 1982, the European Parliament, in response to high-profile pressure from Greenpeace and other activist groups, banned the import of whitecoat sealskins. Although they made an exemption for Inuit hunters — who never did target whitecoats — the market for ringed seal products collapsed. Sales dropped to less than 1,000 pelts in 1988 from more than 50,000 pelts in 1977. The pelts that were sold barely got $5 each (versus five times that a decade before).

The year 1983 brought a spike in suicides in northern coastal indigenous communities, a drop in annual income (for example: the annual income of a sealer in Resolute Bay dropped to $1000 from $54,000), and other devastating social and cultural challenges. Many of those who had been proud of working hard and making a living from their homeland struggled in the face of international scorn.

The European Union banned the importation of seal products in 2009. As in the earlier action, the EU exempted Inuit hunters from the ban—but the result was again devastating, reducing the number of pelts sold by 90%.

Demand for seal products is increasing in some markets, and seal is finding a new home in high fashion, the restaurant and food industry, and natural medicinal trade. Despite this, anti-sealing groups are still active and vocal, and pushing to eliminate consumers’ ability to choose natural, sustainable seal products.

Food Security

Up to 70% of Inuit households are considered food insecure. Groceries can be prohibitively expensive in the north, and traditional food sources and hunting methods are eroding.

Seal and other country foods can go a long way in ensuring a supply of nutrient-rich food. Many northern communities have set up community freezers or other food sharing structures to allow those who hunt to help provide for those who cannot. This, too, is an extension of Inuit traditions of community cooperation—in other words, traditional food access offers social and cultural benefits, as well as nutritional ones.

In Canada’s north, where store-bought meat is expensive, a single ringed seal can provide the equivalent of $200 or more worth of meat to a family—and a much higher level of nutrition.

Learn about sealing culture on the east coast

“Nunavut seeks its place in world trade. Inuit await the opportunity to share their resources and achievements to achieve a brighter future. The values of natural conservation and spirit of trade can go hand in hand. Unfortunately, regulations lacking a scientific basis for sustainable use remain an obstacle.”

—Government of Nunavut