方法

根据加拿大法律,必须使用所制定的三步程序来人道捕猎海豹,并且须经过国际专家联盟独立兽医工作组的认可。

首先,必须击昏动物,引起不可逆的失去知觉(或死亡),并使其对疼痛不敏感。可使用监管的武器来完成击昏;步枪、刺棒或棍棒。

击打海豹后,海豹捕猎者必须尽快检查它的头骨。海豹捕猎者的安全是重中之重;接近动物前,海豹捕猎者必须注意海豹是否有任何直接移动(抽搐、嗅探或其他表明海豹可能对抗海豹捕猎者或逃跑的迹象)。然后通过手动触诊检查海豹头的顶部,从而确认头骨的半球已破碎。

为确保海豹死亡,必须切断海豹前鳍足下面的两个大腋动脉,并对海豹进行放血。至少放血1分钟后,海豹捕猎者才能取走毛皮和肉。

实施这种三步标准方法(击昏、触诊头骨进行检查和放血)可确保海豹在最小化痛苦的情况下快速死亡。发行任何商业或个人使用的海豹许可证之前,会强制培训人道捕猎(三步程序),并且自2009年起该培训已成为海洋哺乳动物法规的一部分。

刺棒是挪威人设计的,用于在冰上捕猎海豹的多用工具(在加拿大,刺棒主要用于圣劳伦斯湾)。该方法经过认证符合人道理念,并且有助于为捕猎者保证产品的品质。

大多数加拿大海豹捕猎者都使用刺棒,以便从水中捕猎海豹和/或确保快速人道的死亡。经验丰富的射手手中的火器将对准海豹的头部,用于从船上(例如在纽芬兰和拉布拉多东海岸的前沿)或跨过广阔的冰面(通常位于北极地区)进行狩猎。在经过培训的专业海豹捕猎者手中,任何监管的武器都可用于经过认证的人道狩猎中,从而确保捕猎者的安全和市场中的优质产品。

了解更多有关收获的信息

“……使用各种方法的目的就是破坏海豹的脑知觉功能,从而让海豹快速死亡并有效避免引发疼痛、痛苦、恐惧和其他形式的苦难。”

—欧洲食品安全局,2007

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Methods

According to Canadian law, seals must be humanely harvested using a three-step process developed and endorsed by the Independent Veterinarians’ Working Group, an international consortium of experts.

First, the animal must be stunned, inducing irreversible unconsciousness (or death), and rendering it insensitive to pain. Stunning is achieved using a regulation weapon; either a rifle, hakapik, or club.

After striking a seal, the sealer must check its skull as soon as possible. Sealer safety is of paramount importance; sealers must watch the seal for any directed movements (twitching, sniffing, or other signs the seal may confront the sealer or escape) before approaching the animal. Then the top of seal’s head is examined by manual palpation to confirm that both hemispheres of the skull have been crushed.

To ensure death, the two large axillary arteries under the seal’s front flippers must be severed, and the seal allowed to bleed out. Only after a minimum of one minute of bleeding may the sealer take the pelt and meat.

This standardized three-step method (stunning, checking by palpation of the skull, and bleeding) was implemented to ensure rapid death with minimum pain and suffering. Training in Humane Harvesting (the three-step process) is mandatory before any commercial or personal use seal licence is issued, and has been part of the Marine Mammal Regulations since 2009.

The hakapik is a multipurpose tool of Norwegian design used when harvesting seals on the ice (in Canada, is it used mainly in the Gulf of St. Lawrence). This method is certified humane and helps ensure good quality products  for the harvester.

Most Canadian sealers employ a hakapik to help retrieve seals from the water and/or ensure a quick and humane death. Firearms in the hands of skilled marksmen—the target is the seal’s head—are used in any hunt conducted from boats (such as on the Front, off the east coast of Newfoundland and Labrador), or across an expanse of ice (often the situation in the high north). Any of the regulated weapons, in the hands of a trained professional sealer, may be used in this certified humane hunt, ensuring harvester safety and a good-quality product for market.

Learn More About The Harvest

“…many seals can be, and are, killed rapidly and effectively without causing avoidable pain, distress, fear and other forms of suffering, using a variety of methods that aim to destroy sensory brain functions.”

—European Food Safety Authority, 2007