法规

方法中所概述的用于人道杀死动物的标准三步方法,被列入2009年春的加拿大竖琴海豹狩猎的认可证条件中,并且同年该方法被纳入加拿大联邦政府的海洋哺乳动物法规中。

根据来自独立兽医工作组(包括来自加拿大、美国、法国、英国和其他地方的兽医)的建议制定该方法。同时还与行业、省区和地区政府进行协商。

海豹捕猎者必须谨慎选择猎物。杀害白袍海豹(竖琴海豹或灰海豹幼仔)或蓝背(冠海豹幼仔)海豹为违法行为。处于白袍或蓝背阶段时,幼仔需要哺乳并依靠雌性海豹获得食物和保护。

根据不同的物种,哺乳可能自出生后持续几日或几周,当哺乳结束时雌性海豹会离开幼仔。海豹幼仔开始换毛、长出成年的皮毛并学会自己游泳和捕食。仅能捕猎处于独立阶段的海豹。

而蓝背冠海豹未达到2至3岁时(蓝色皮毛刚刚脱落),均不可捕猎。

不得在幼仔或繁殖的地方狩猎成年海豹。这无形中减少了杀害怀孕或哺乳的母海豹的机会。

无论是个人使用还是商用,所有海豹捕猎者必须持有许可证。个人许可证通常允许持有人最多捕猎六只海豹,对临近指定海豹捕猎区的居民有用。

2014年,渔业海洋部宣布所有商业捕猎许可证的持有人必须接受强制性的人道捕猎培训,其中包括2小时的研讨会。截止到2016年11月30日,未能完成培训的商业性海豹捕猎者不得更新许可证。

了解更多有关收获的信息

This post is also available in: 英语 法语 Inuktitut

Regulations

The standardized three-step method for the humane killing of seals, outlined in Methods, was included in the conditions of License for the Canadian harp seal hunt in spring 2009, the same year it became entrenched in the Marine Mammal Regulations of Canada’s federal government.

This method was developed in accordance with recommendations from the Independent Veterinarians Working Group, consisting of veterinarians from Canada, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, and elsewhere. Consultations were also held with industry and provincial and territorial governments.

Sealers must choose their prey carefully. It is against the law to kill a whitecoat (harp seal or grey seal pup) or blueback (hooded seal pup). At the whitecoat or blueback stage, pups are nursing and dependent on their mother for food and protection.

When nursing finishes—depending on the species, this may be several days or several weeks after birth—the mother leaves her pup for good. The young seal begins to moult, grow its adult coat, and swim and hunt for itself. Only seals at this self-reliant independent stage may be harvested.

Blueback hooded seals cannot be hunted until 2 to 3 years of age, when they shed their blue-coloured coat.

No adult seal may be hunted in whelping or breeding patches. The virtually eliminates the chances of killing a pregnant or nursing cow.

All seal harvesters must hold a licence, whether for personal or commercial use. Personal licences, which usually allow the holder to harvest up to six seals, are available to residents adjacent to the designated seal harvest areas.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans announced in 2014 that Humane Harvesting training, consisting of a 2-hour workshop, would be mandatory for all holders of commercial seal licences. Commercial sealers who did not complete the training by November 30, 2016, would not have been permitted to renew their licences.

Learn More About The Harvest