培训和监管

如经常所说的那样,加拿大的海豹捕猎是世界上审核最仔细的狩猎。自20世纪70年代,频繁出现的抗议者、反海豹捕猎组织和媒体机构将全世界目光吸引到狩猎和其实践中。

这些关注毁掉了海豹捕猎行业,无数的社群、家庭和个人见证他们的安全受到威胁,他们的生计被剥夺。如果抗议具有积极的一面,那就是:在过去的三十多年里,已经评估、改进并标准化捕猎海豹的方法。

如今的专业海豹捕猎者不仅是经验丰富的猎人,还是应法律要求,接受过人道捕杀海豹培训的人。强制在更新海豹捕猎许可证前,完成该培训。

还强烈建议商业性海豹捕猎者参加质量/健康/处理培训研讨会。经过与加拿大食品检验局的协商后制定该计划,该计划主要关注海豹肉和海豹油出口证明所要求的质量保证。

纽芬兰和拉布拉多的海豹加工商承诺,仅从接受过人道捕猎和质量/健康/处理培训的海豹捕猎者处采购。

渔业部官员全天监管渔猎期的海豹捕猎。加拿大皇家骑警队(RCMP)、魁北克省警察和海上观测员还会监管捕猎,并执行海洋哺乳动物法规。

自2009年修订海洋哺乳动物法规起,渔业海洋部不断增强监管和执法工作。政府声明“已经付出相当多的努力来验证加拿大海豹捕猎行业的专业高水平和恪守人道主义。在过去的五年里,根据约3000次渔业部官员检查,海豹捕猎行业维持在96%的符合率。

了解更多有关收获的信息

This post is also available in: English (英语) Français (法语) ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ (Inuktitut)

Training & Monitoring

It has often been stated the the Canadian seal hunt is the most heavily scrutinized hunt in the world. The frequent presence of protestors, anti-sealing groups, and media outlets since the 1970s has drawn worldwide attention to the hunt and its practices.

That attention has wrecked havoc on the sealing industry, as well as countless communities, families, and individuals that saw their safety compromised and their livelihood stripped away. If there is a positive side to the protests, it is this: over the past three decades, methods for hunting seals have been evaluated, improved, and standardized.

Today’s professional sealers are not only experienced hunters, but are required by law to be trained in the humane killing of seals. Completion of this training is mandatory before the renewal of a seal fishing licence.

Quality/Health/Handling training workshops are also highly recommended for commercial sealers. This program, developed in consultation with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, focuses on the quality assurance required for export certification of seal meat and oil.

Seal processors in Newfoundland and Labrador have committed to only purchasing from sealers who have undergone Humane Harvesting and Quality/Health/Handling training.

Fisheries officers monitor the seal hunt 24/7 during the open season. The RCMP, Quebec provincial police, and at-sea observers are also engaged to monitor the hunt and enforce the Marine Mammal Regulations.

Since the 2009 revisions to the Marine Mammal Regulations, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans has stepped up its monitoring and enforcement efforts. The government states that it “has made considerable efforts to verify the high level of professionalism and commitment to humaneness of the Canadian sealing industry. Based on approximately 3,000 fishery officer inspections over the last five years, the sealing industry maintained a 96 percent compliance rate.”

Learn More About The Harvest